Home Page


Welcome to our governors' section. Should you wish to contact the Chair of Governors for any reason please make an appointment through the school office or email her directly 


In school reception there are copies of the most recent newsletter available as well as a comments and/or questions box. We encourage parents and carers to communicate regularly with us. Once a term our Parent Governors hold a Parent Governors forum. This usually falls within Family Learning Week. Details of dates are held with the school office. 


The Governors meet every half term as a Full Governing Body (FGB). Each of the Governors are in committees (Curriculum & Standards/Personnel & Finance) and these groups also meet once a half term. Some Governors have key responsibilities and/or links to specific subjects.


Governors serve an initial term of office of four years and are subject to re-appointment/re-election thereafter. 


The Governors are an essential part of the leadership & management of Thornhill Primary School. They also work together to be the best they can be!


Current Governing Body





Interests to Declare/


FGB Attendance 


Date appointed

(reconstituted FGB July 2015) 

Pauline Butler


Chair of Full Governing Body

English Link Governor

None 100%

Appointed by FGB on

1 September 2015

Duncan Jennings


Vice Chair of Governing Body

Chair of Curriculum & Standards Committee. SEND, EAL, R.E. Link Governor

Vicar of St. Christopher's Church.



Appointed by FGB on 

1 September 2015

Nigel Newham

Local Authority

Chair of Personnel & Finance Committee

Safeguarding. Health & Safety.

Pupil Premium link Governor  

None 100%

Appointed by FGB on 

1 September 2015

Andrew Harvey


Personnel & Finance Committee.

Maths Link Gov

Retired Deputy Headteacher at Chamberlayne College for the Arts  100%

Appointed by FGB on 

1 September 2015

Jenna Dyke

 Staff Governor Curriculum & Standards Committee Teacher of School







Appointed by FGB on 

22 October 2017

Kerry Stamp

Head Teacher

Head Teacher

Headteacher of School 100% 1 September 2015

Michael Hartley

Co-opted   None 100%  


The Chair of Governors can be contacted via school or at


Please find below our most recent Governors Newsletters or reports to parents/carers:



Picture 1